World Wide Wednesday, May 20, 2015

iStock_000003621765_LargeIt’s World Wide Wednesday! Here’s what’s news in the world of foster care and adoption around the web:

  • Respite Angels are Truly Award-worthy: Every quarterback has a backup, many computers are backed up because of viruses, and every lead actor has supporting roles alongside them.So what do foster parents do when they need to rest, recharge or deal with a virus? They reach out to the wonderful people who do RESPITE.
  • I Don’t Want You to Fail: An Open Letter to Foster Children – I don’t know all of you. But I wish I did. When I started my journey into foster care and adoption nearly 9 years ago I had no idea that I would fall in love with thousands of children I would never meet. That might sound cheesy, hard to believe and maybe even a little ridiculous, but it’s true. I think about all of you — as a group, as individuals — every single day of my life.I want you to know that you matter. I want you to see past the simplicity and perhaps the overuse of that statement to the heart of what it means. You matter. Your ideas, your talents, your dreams, your wishes…they all matter.
  • Is Adoption Sad? Our children deserve to hear their whole adoption story–even when it isn’t happy. An article from Adoptive Families by Robert Barnett.
  • What Is Life Like for Birth Mothers After Placement? Supporting Birth Mothers: Before, During, and After Adoption On Your Feet Foundation’s national survey provides insight into birth mothers’ emotional experiences after placement and what can help them heal.

Have news you’d like to share? Please post in our comments!

Leave a Reply

