Open call for bloggers

This past May, we filled the blog with stories to celebrate National Foster Care Month. We had a wonderful number of guest bloggers who shared very moving and personal experiences, and also some different perspectives from authors connected to the world of foster care. We’d like to feature similar stories this November in honor of National Adoption Month.

Image courtesy Milky Way Photography

Image courtesy Milky Way Photography

Now that the kids are (or are just about!) back in school, I’m looking for bloggers to participate in this project. I’m open to ideas for topics and posts, but here are some suggestions to get you started:

  • Do you have a story about how you met or came to know us here at the Coalition? Or perhaps how we have helped you and your family?
  • Would you like to share about how you celebrate birth parents and birth family members, especially around the holidays?
  • Has your family adopted a child or children from a culture other than your own? Maybe you’d like to write about how you honor that culture and what new cultural celebrations you have folded into your family.
  • Are you an adoptee who would like to share your personal perspective?
  • Have you made an adoption plan for your child?

Our May series was a great success and I can’t wait to hear from families and individuals to help celebrate National Adoption Month 2013!

How to participate:

  • If you’d like to take part and share a blog post, simply leave a comment on this blog post or send an email to jczaplewski@coalitionforcyf.org.
  • Let me know your name and where you are from (just the state is fine!).
  • All posts should be sent to me at the email address above no later than October 15, 2013.
  • Photos are always welcome, as long as any children photographed are either birth children of your family or children who have been legally adopted and whose adoption has been finalized. For confidentiality reasons, we cannot include any images of children in your home who you may be fostering or whose adoptions have not yet been finalized.
  • If you would like to share your story and have your name(s) or any other identifying information or details changed, we can definitely accommodate those requests.
  • Please be advised that we may make editorial changes to your submission.

If you have questions about participating, just send me an email at jczaplewski@coalitionforcyf.org.

5 thoughts on “Open call for bloggers

  1. I love the Adoption resource Center now the Adoption Collation, It has inspired me to the fullest , I didn’t know being foster / adopted parent would bring this much joy to be apart of all my life I wanted to become a foster parent -I have 4 grown children and now a 12 year old . My heart lights up every time I see that face knowing he is my son and I his mom . I have attended many events -Pumpkin Farm -Betty Brines Museum , Christmas Party Back to school Party -Home to stay back pack party ; again this year the Pumpkin Farm – My son is a great summer he had ADHD I found something he love that is swimming -I just wanted to share my story

  2. As often happens, I remembered the day I first saw that squiggly little wormy like creature in that white mini toga like thing around his waist, as I talked to him at his Grad School of choice last night on the phone.

    As a little boy in grade school, he was so proud knowing that many mommies and daddies go to a hospital to have a baby, but his mommy and daddy went to a hospital and picked him out, as we had explained to him.

    That 6’4″, newly married, Physics Major, adopted Son of mine is the pride of my life. He has grown into a wonderful young man, loving and caring, standing for the oppressed, the not so fortunate, and the different.

    To get the intervening 25 years of adventures, well I guess you’re just gonna have to pick me for a guest blogger.

    As a teaser, in the manner of Rod Serling from the Twilight Zone: Imagine if you will, a four year old little boy with his little pink tongue stuck out the side of his mouth, dressed in suspender overalls, Lil Tykes hard hat, brown work boots, and WAY over-sized safety goggles. He is on all fours on the top of my dusty, wooden work bench, with hammer in hand heading for…….his THUMB!

    Nothing on this earth could ever compare to being an adoptive dad.

Leave a Reply

