World Wide Wednesday – May 1, 2013

It’s World Wide Wednesday! Here’s what’s happening the world of foster care and adoption around the web:

  • “Like most families, our decision to foster wasn’t an easy one,” says foster parent Betsy DuKatz. “When my husband and I first had a conversation about fostering six years ago, we didn’t know any foster parents we could talk with or ask questions to. Watch this video to learn what motivated us to move forward through the uncertainty.”
  • The Aoption at the Movies blog takes on one of my favorite types of books: choose-your-own-adventures. Only this one’s a movie about the Abominable Snowman.
  • The North American Council on Adoptable Children (NACAC) has scheduled the following three webinars taught by experienced individuals who are adoption professionals and adoptive parents. Each is an acclaimed speaker who has received rave reviews at the NACAC conference and other speaking venues around the U.S. and Canada.
    • Parenting Children Who Have Been Prenatally Exposed — by Kari Fletcher — Tuesday, May 21 at 7 pm central time (5 pm pacific, 6 pm mountain, 8 pm eastern).
    • Helping Children Heal from Trauma: What Parents and Caregivers Need to Know — by Sue Badeau — Thursday, July 18 at 7 pm central time (5 pm pacific, 6 pm mountain, 8 pm eastern).
    • Understanding The Acting-Out Behavior Of Your Adopted Children — by Maris Blechner — Tuesday, June 18 at 7 pm central time (5 pm pacific, 6 pm mountain, 8 pm eastern)

Fees for each webinar are $15 for NACAC members and $20 for non-members. Even if you cannot attend the session in person, you can still register and receive a recorded version of the session after it’s over. Certificates of attendance will be available for those who need proof of training hours. Learn more and register,

Have news you’d like to share? Please post in our comments!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s