31 Days, 31 Stories

For the past two years, the Portrait of an Adoption blog has been putting together and hosting a big event every November in honor of National Adoption Month. The “30 Adoption Portraits” event features posts from many different authors, sharing a variety of points of view, thoughts, feelings, and experiences. It’s beautiful, moving, and inspiring to read, and I really hope there’ll be a 30 Adoption Portraits 2013.

However, as far as I’m aware, there’s no such event for May – National Foster Care Month. Well, I’d like to change that. But I’ll need your help.

The Strengthening Families Changing Lives blog will host, but we need your voices. Your stories. Your experiences.

Whether you are a current or former foster youth, a foster family, a professional working in child welfare, a foster care expert, or someone in a related position, I’d love to hear from you. The topic and length of the piece are up to you – it’s your story and your words.

I’m very excited to say that Dr. John DeGarmo has already agreed to write a post for us. Leave a comment on this post, or send me an email (jczaplewski@wiadopt.org) and tell me what you’d like to write about and I’ll assign you a date. We need a significant number of contributors to make this work, so I’m looking forward to hearing from you!

11 thoughts on “31 Days, 31 Stories

  1. I am a former foster youth and currently work in the adoption field. I would like to share my story. Please contact me with the date you would like me to write for in May. Thank you for bringing light to this topic.

  2. I am a former foster youth (adopted out of the system) and would also love to share my experience. Is there are particular theme you are looking for?

  3. I am a current Foster Provider and have an adoption through foster care. I also provide respite and mentoring. Please let me know if you would like info from me.

Leave a Reply

